Challenge Me, Teach Me

Hello, it’s me again,

Is it wrong that I enjoy the company of people who challenge my way of thinking, with whom I can debate and who I can learn from instead of those who converse in an utterly bland, pleasant way? Is it wrong of me to want more than vanilla, but to also want to know why the flavour of mint or english toffee should be more rousing to my palate before I choose to taste it?

I think my mind will stretch as far as I allow it to stretch…and I think that a lazy mind is restricted because one does not apply oneself. Hey, don’t get me wrong…I am not saying that I know it all…which is exactly my point!

I may not find everything the universe has to offer interesting enough to want to learn more about it…as an example, I hate math.I would rather read something that evokes emotion, and math does not do that for me. I would rather learn of the culture or belief system of others than tabulate a table or measure wood for a cupboard. But…there are many who would rather learn these skills than listen to someone tell their life’s tale.

I want to know that a middle of the night conversation is going to be more than giggles and nods if I am to stay awake for it. I want to be challenged! Teach me what you know and what I do not. Just so, that which I know I can share with you…and, if my thoughts do not mirror yours, tell me why!

The thing is, I cannot bring myself to explain why I am the way I am, or why my thoughts are as they are to those who have no interest in delving beyond what is visible and exploring the depths of my mind if I cannot do the same. I cannot make another human open up to me and show me what their thoughts are coloured by, and how if they are not interested in seeing the hues of mine…

But if I do not try, I am doomed to glide by those who think as I do, and wither away until my grey matter becomes dust.

And I don’t know if I am ready to be okay with that…

Anyway…helloitsmeeagain…

Leave a comment